Skip to Content

8 Four Seasons

Liu Dahong

2006 (based on 1991 oil painting)
Print 56 x 90cm
Courtesy of Liu Dahong

The four seasons of Mao confirm his continuing impact on the seasons of China. They also remind us that even the most powerful of men will face decline. In Spring, there is a dragon in the sky. In Summer, the celestial nymphs dance. In Autumn, Mao’s imperial authority is rampant and redness suffuses the national landscape. In Winter, he is withered, and clouds settle in the sky above his head. The animals of the zodiac, and thus the passing of the years are also exhausted by endless change.